Parents' Guide to Apprenticeships

Apprenticeship Levels

There are three levels of Apprenticeship, dependent on current skills and qualifications:

  • Intermediate Apprenticeship
    (Level 2)
  • Advanced Apprenticeship
    (Level 3)
  • Higher Apprenticeship
    (Level 4 or above)

The core components for Intermediate and Advanced Apprenticeships are:

  • A nationally recognised vocational qualification
  • Functional skills (e.g. literacy, numeracy and ICT)
  • A technical certificate such as a BTEC or City & Guilds (relevant to the specific Apprenticeship)

Other professional qualifications or requirements as specified by the particular job. The core components for Higher Apprenticeships are as above but exclude the Functional Skills element.

Tags: Apprenticeships, parent